Board of Trustees

Leading our Community, Leading our Community Foundation

The members of the CFNIL Board of Trustees represent communities across the foundation's service area, numerous professional backgrounds, and have a variety of community engagement and volunteer experience. Every trustee volunteered as a CFNIL scholarship or grant advisor before becoming a member of the Board of Trustees. 

Kathy Kwiat-Hess headshot
Kathy Kwiat-Hess – Chair
Retired – Licensed Clinical Social Worker
Email: Kathy Kwiat-Hess – Chair
Steve Schmeling headshot
Stephen Schmeling - Vice Chair
Schmeling Construction, Co.
Dayton Smith photo
Dayton Smith, III – Treasurer
DBS Accounting
Dan Ross headshot
Dan Ross – Board Secretary
CFNIL President
Phone: 779-210-8201
Email: Dan Ross – Board Secretary
Cheryl Balsam headshot
Cheryl Balsam
Retired – Hyzer, Hyzer & Jacobs
Judy Barnard headshot
Judith Barnard
Market Works
Ed Clift headshot
Edward Clift - Assistant Treasurer
Remax Professional Advantage
Russ Dennis headshot
Russ Dennis
Leading Edge Hydraulics
Derek Dreier headshot
Derek Dreier
SPX Flow Inc.
Mike Gann photo
Mike Gann
Retired - MPEC
Sherry Gaumond photo
Sherry Gaumond
Larson & Darby Group
Bryan Heidemann Headshot
Bryan Heidemann
CoyleKiley Insurance Agency
Joyce D. Higgins photo
Joyce D. Higgins
African American Resource Center at Booker
Beth Howard photo
Beth S. Howard
Friends of the Coronado / Rockford Coronado Concert Association
John Kehoe photo
John Kehoe
Retired – Mercyhealth
Becky Kendall photo
Rebecca Kendall
Rockford Health Council
Joanna Mladic headshot
Joanna Mladic
Rockford University
Placeholder image - CFNIL tree logo
Dr. Dinesh Pandya
Retired - Doctor of Podiatry
Bill Reilly headshot
William Reilly II
Reilly Law Offices
Karen Schiller photo
Karen Schiller
Winnebago County CASA
Beth Thacker photo
M. Beth Thacker
Northwestern Mutual
placeholder image - CFNIL tree logo
Richard T. Leighton
Trustee Emeritus