Picture of a woman with auburn hair in a white top and grey blazer standing in front of a grey brick wall. Text reads: Congratulations, Sarah! 40 Leaders Under 40 2022 honoree.

Sarah Lambert named among 40 Leaders Under 40

Sarah Lambert, Vice President of Programs and Community Investment at the Community Foundation of Northern Illinois (CFNIL), has been honored as one of the 2022 40 Leaders Under Forty by the Rockford Chamber of Commerce.

Highlighting individuals who are compelling, interesting, and “doers”, 40 under Forty honorees are people who have distinguished themselves in their professional field or organization, are engaged citizens, and provide leadership by volunteering their time and talents to community groups and causes.

40 under Forty began in 2008 and, including this year’s class, has honored 240 leaders. This year’s class is comprised of men and women representing a variety of industries, including health care, government, nonprofits, finance, education, and professional services. Honorees are business leaders who impact their respective organizations and industries and who positively affect the local business environment.

Sarah Lambert joined CFNIL in 2015 and oversees all of the foundation's competitive grantmaking programs, including CFNIL Community Grants and Scholarships, which cumulatively award more than $1.7M each year. Her nominators noted: "Sarah is well respected and sought out as a leader for community initiatives; her opinion and skills are welcomed at many tables of influence. Sarah has a knack for balancing humility with strength, and the instinct to speak up when it's needed but to not only leave space for other voices but to LIFT those voices."

Lambert stated, “Receiving an honor from the community like this is really special, and I'm especially proud of being nominated by my peers and coworkers. Rockford is full of great people doing great work, and I'm lucky to be part of this exceptional group of honorees!”

Sarah and all of the 2022 40 Leaders Under Forty honorees will be recognized at a reception on Thursday, June 23. Learn more.