Our Team

Who is CFNIL?

The Community Foundation of Northern Illinois is a public charity led by a team of professional staff, with strategic, financial, and operational oversight from a volunteer Board of Trustees.

View open job opportunities with CFNIL.

Experienced, professional, and committed to philanthropic service. 

As the regional leader of philanthropy, the Community Foundation serves as a promoter and advisor on charitable giving, a resource to the nonprofit sector, and an excellent steward of the community’s resources. Together, the staff of the Community Foundation of Northern Illinois brings more than 75 years of experience in the community foundation field.

Page Section Anchor
Kate Black, Program and Development Associate, headshot
Kate Black
Program and Development Associate
Phone: 779-210-8202
Email: Kate Black
Heather Cunningham, Program Coordinator and IYWT Liaison, headshot
Heather Cunningham
Program Coordinator and IYWT Liaison
Phone: 779-210-8209
Email: Heather Cunningham
Lisa DeLang, CFNIL Program and Administrative Associate
Lisa DeLang
Program and Administrative Associate
Phone: 779-210-8210
Email: Lisa DeLang
Shannon Gustafson, Director of Finance, headshot
Shannon Gustafson
Director of Finance
Phone: 779-210-8205
Email: Shannon Gustafson
Isabella Ibarra - Finance Associate - Headshot
Isabella Ibarra
Finance Associate
Phone: 779-210-8211
Email: Isabella Ibarra
Sarah Lambert, CFNIL Vice President of Programs and Community Investment
Sarah Lambert
Vice President of Programs and Community Investment
Phone: 779-210-8207
Email: Sarah Lambert
James Patterson - Senior Program Director - headshot
James Patterson
Senior Program Director
Phone: 779-210-8206
Email: James Patterson
Dan Ross - President - headshot
Dan Ross
Phone: 779-210-8201
Email: Dan Ross
Jennifer Smith - Engagement Director - headshot
Jennifer Smith
Engagement Director
Phone: 779-210-8204
Email: Jennifer Smith
Ciara Stahly - Assistant Development Director - headshot
Ciara Stahly
Assistant Development Director
Phone: 779-210-8203
Email: Ciara Stahly
Beazus Lambert - photo
Beazus Lambert
Territory Management & Entertainment Associate
Page Section Anchor

Leading our Community, leading our Community Foundation

The members of the CFNIL Board of Trustees represent communities across the foundation's service area, numerous professional backgrounds, and have a variety of community engagement and volunteer experience. Every trustee volunteered as a CFNIL scholarship or grant advisor before becoming a member of the Board of Trustees. 

Steve Schmeling headshot
Stephen Schmeling - Chair
Schmeling Construction Co.
Karen Schiller headshot
Karen Schiller - Vice Chair
Winnebago County CASA
Dayton Smith III headshot
Dayton Smith, III – Treasurer
DBS Accounting
Dan Ross President and Board Secretary headshot
Dan Ross – Board Secretary
CFNIL President
Phone: 779-210-8201
Email: Dan Ross – Board Secretary
Ed Clift headshot
Edward Clift - Assistant Treasurer
Remax Professional Advantage
Joe Cruz Headshot
Joseph Cruz
PCI Pharma Services
Jim Derry headshot
Jim Derry
Field Fastener
Derek Dreier headshot
Derek Dreier
SPX Flow Inc.
Mike Gann headshot
Mike Gann
Retired - MPEC
Sherry Gaumond headshot
Sherry Gaumond
Larson & Darby Group
Bryan Heidemann headshot
Bryan Heidemann
CoyleKiley Insurance Agency
Annie Hobson headshot
Annie Hobson
Active Minds
Beth Howard headshot
Beth S. Howard
Friends of the Coronado / Rockford Coronado Concert Association
John Kehoe headshot
John Kehoe
Retired – Mercyhealth
Becky Kendall headshot
Rebecca Kendall
Retired - Rockford Health Council
Kathy Kwiat-Hess headshot
Kathy Kwiat-Hess
Retired – Licensed Clinical Social Worker
T.J. Leake headshot
Timothy J. (T.J.) Leake
Dino Pandya headshot
Dr. Dinesh (Dino) Pandya
Retired - Doctor of Podiatry
Beth Thacker headshot
M. Beth Thacker
Northwestern Mutual
Dick Leighton - truste emeritus - headshot
Richard T. Leighton
Trustee Emeritus
Page Section Anchor

CFNIL is not hiring at this time.

Please follow us on Facebook, Instagram, and LinkedIn, and sign up for our e-newsletter to receive the latest information on future job openings.

We encourage you to visit other local job boards to look for other job opportunities in northern Illinois:

Northern Illinois Center for Nonprofit Excellence (NICNE) Job Board

Rockford Chamber of Commerce Job Bank

The Workforce Connection Job Board

The Community Foundation of Northern Illinois is an equal-opportunity employer.